Overcoming my Imposter syndrome - 1

Overcoming my Imposter syndrome - 1

Detailing my journey to learning Web development.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

If you're trying anything for the first time, however simple you assume it is, the chances are you are going to struggle to become adept at it initially. This is a lesson you can learn the hard way or accept now.

Imposter syndrome is the sad habit of under-evaluating your skills, talents, and innate abilities even in the face of opposite realities.

I decided to learn programming sometime in 2021, I found coding interesting and less technical than I assumed it would be, so I thought I would bada-bing bada-boom my way through becoming an expert and snag a high-level gig in three months. I had no background in STEM or even understood the scope of programming and choosing a language to major in.

My expectations were so unrealistic and set so ridiculously high that I psyched myself into thinking there was no point in even trying when I was met with the least resistance. Challenges as small as slow Wi-Fi to mastering algorithmic thinking threw me into bouts of anxiety and self-doubt.

It's the third month of 2022, and I'm just now beginning to realistically undertake the learning process.

I am unlearning the craving for perfectionism that cripples me when all my ducks don't toe a row seamlessly. I am learning that just like cake, all good things need time, and heat(hard work, discipline, consistency) to come together.

I'm blogging about it because I need to document this. Likewise, I need to know I'm not alone in my challenges or fears. And most importantly, I require external validation.

In one month I hope my tune is a less dank one because being able to admit that I'm not at all perfect and I don't have my journey figured out makes me hopeful that I can intentionally, consciously do something about it.